1. Home
  2. NEW version
  3. How-To
  4. How To Update Your Shopify Connection

How To Update Your Shopify Connection

This guide is for those using the New version of Intuitive Shipping. If you’re using the Legacy version of the app, go here.

Not sure which version you’re using? Find out here.

Intuitive Shipping syncs with your Shopify store so we can access key information required for calculating shipping, and so we can access your checkout page. This allows us to receive order information from Shopify when a customer checks out.

Information we sync includes your shop name, your primary shipping origin address, your primary contact email address, and your product list.

The initial syncing process is done when you first install the app, then go through the onboarding process and complete the setup checklist.

Store account settings and product settings are synced separately.

While you’re in Setup & Testing Mode, you’ll need to re-sync your store settings and import your product catalog changes manually from the Shopify Connection page.

Once you have selected a billing plan to activate your account, you’ll still have to manually re-sync any changes to your store account settings. Changes to your product catalog will be synced automatically, though we do recommend completing a manual import if you make significant changes to your product catalog settings.

Update Shopify Connection

1) Click Shopify connection on the sidebar menu.

Account Settings

We recommend performing this action any time you:

  • Update your store name.
  • Update your store’s primary shipping origin address. We use this to calculate live carrier rates and, if applicable, distance-based rates.
  • Changing your primary contact email address. See General settings.
  • Changing your store’s currency. See General settings
  • Changing your Shopify Shipping & delivery settings. This may affect our ability to display rates at checkout.

Syncing is required whenever you make changes, even after activating your account.

Syncing account settings does not update changes to your product catalog

To import changes to your product catalog, skip ahead to the next section.

1) Click the Sync account settings button.

The date and time of your last sync is displayed above the button. Once you click the button, this time stamp will be updated.

While syncing is being completed, the button will be replaced by a message: ‘Syncing in progress. Please check back shortly.’

The sync may take several seconds. You can leave the page and do other things in the app while syncing is taking place. However, we strongly encourage you not to perform any test checkouts that may be impacted by the changes, such currency settings or your Shopify shipping origin address while the sync is running.

2) Check back and review the time stamp to comfirm the sync was completed.

Product Catalog

We recommend performing this action while you are in Setup & Testing Mode when:

  • You add or remove products or variants
  • You change product or variant names
  • You add or remove product tags
  • You assign or remove product vendors
  • You add to or update product collections
  • You update product prices
  • You update product types
  • You update product images
  • You update fulfillment services

Fulfillment services is a legacy Shopify feature that may not be supported on your store.

Importing product catalog changes is required while you are in Setup & Testing mode.

Product catalog changes are synced automatically when you have activated a billing plan. However, we do recommend manually importing product catalog changes if you make significant changes, such as adding, removing or updating several products at one time.

1) Click the Import product catalog changes button.

The number of products, collections – and, if applicable, fulfilment services – synced, and the date and time of your last sync are displayed above the button. Once you click the button, the summary and time stamp will be updated.

While syncing is being completed, the button will be replaced by a message: ‘Syncing in progress. Please check back shortly.’

The sync may take up to a couple of minutes, depending on how many products you have in your store. You can leave the page and do other things in the app while syncing is taking place. However, we strongly encourage you to not make any changes to your Intuitive Shipping product settings or perform any test checkouts while the sync is running.

Manual syncing includes your entire product catalog, regardless of how many products were actually updated.

2) Check back and review the time stamp to comfirm the sync was completed.

Updated on October 26, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?
If you can't find the answer you're looking for, don't worry. We're here to help.
Contact Support