1. Home
  2. FAQ

FAQ

Here are some of the most common and frequently asked questions about the Automate Shipping Profiles app.

To see the FAQ for the Intuitive Shipping app, go here.

Getting Started

What do I need to get started with Automate Shipping Profiles?

At a minimum, you’ll need at least two (2) Shipping Profiles and one (1) Profile Condition.

Shipping Profiles are a Shopify feature and must be set up within your Shopify settings. Learn how here.

Profile Conditions are set up within Automate Shipping Profiles. Learn how here.

Can I use Automate Shipping Profiles in Setup mode?

Absolutely! You can access most Automate Shipping Profiles features in Setup mode. To run automation and to apply bulk updates, you must activate billing.

Is there a free trial period?

Automate Shipping Profiles is free to use in Setup mode. At this time, to access all features, you must select a billing plan. Our Starter plan is free!

Does Automate Shipping Profiles calculate shipping rates?

Automate Shipping Profiles allows you to quickly and easily move your products from one Shipping Profile to another, where shipping rates associated with that Profile are displayed to your customers. It is not a rate calculator.

If your Shipping strategy requires more complex shipping rules and calculations than you are currently using, consider using our main app, Intuitive Shipping

Is Automate Shipping Profiles compliant with GDPR?

Yes! As a verified app on the Shopify app store, Automate Shipping Profiles is in full compliance with the European Union’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) law. To learn how, click here.

Activity

Why don't I see any recent activity on the Activity page?

Recent activities are displayed from the past seven (7) days. If you haven’t had any activity in this period, no activities will be displayed.

Why can't I filter by a Profile Condition?

To filter your activity by a Profile Condition, you must have Profile Conditions set up.

Why can't I filter by a Shipping Profile?

To filter your activity by a Shipping Profile, you must have Shipping Profiles set up for your store.

Profile Conditions

How many Profile Conditions do I need to use Automate Shipping Profiles?

You only need to create one Profile Condition. To take advantage of Automate Shipping Profiles, you should have at least two Shipping Profiles.

Do I need more than one Shipping Profile?

Yes. In order to gain the benefit of Automate Shipping Profiles, you’ll need to have at least two Shipping Profiles.

Why do I need to set the Priority of my Profile Conditions?

Let’s say you have a product that meets two (2) or more Profile Conditions. The Profile Condition with the highest priority takes precedence and the product is assigned the Shipping Profile associated with that Condition.

What happens if I make a Profile Condition inactive?

Each Profile Condition you create has an ‘active’ and ‘inactive’ status which can toggled manually by you. When you set a Profile Condition to ‘inactive’, the system simply ignores it and looks at the next Profile Condition in priority sequence.

Settings

Why do I need to select a Default Shipping Profile?

Every product in your store must be assigned to a Shipping Profile. When you set up Profile Conditions and run a Bulk Update, any products that don’t meet the Conditions are automatically assigned to your Default Shipping Profile.

You can select any Shipping Profile as your default from within Automate Shipping Profiles. However you will need to add or remove Shipping Profiles from your Shopify settings.

How do I add another Shipping Profile to the Default Shipping Profiles list?

Shipping Profiles are determined by your Shopify settings. To learn how to create a new profile, click here.

What is a Bulk Update and why do I need to run it?

Bulk updates apply your products to their correct Shipping Profile. Any time make change to your Profile Conditions – for example, you changed the priority sequence – you will need to run a Bulk Update.

Why can't I run a Bulk Update?

If you’re unable to run a Bulk Update, it is likely because of one of two reasons:

Your account is not activated. Bulk Updates are only available if your account is active. If your account is not active, a reminder will be displayed beside this feature. To learn how to activate your account, click here

You ran a Bulk Update recently. If your account is active and you still can’t run a Bulk Update, check your Settings later. Bulk updates can only be run once every six (6) hours.

Can I use Automate Shipping Profiles while syncing is in progress?

Absolutely! Feel free to continue using the app. To take advantage of your synced settings, be sure to wait until syncing has finished.

We recommend performing an app sync prior to running a Bulk Update to ensure the latest information is being used before updating your product catalog.

Billing

Why can't I test in Setup mode?

To use automations and access all of the features in Automate Shipping Profiles, your account must be active.

Is there a free trial period?

At this time, you must select a Pricing plan to activate Automate Shipping Profiles. Our Starter plan is free!

How do I activate my account?

To active your account, go to Billing and select a Pricing plan.

Can I change my Pricing plan?

Of course! You can change your current plan at any time.

To change to lower tier plan, your current usage must be lower than the limit of the plan you wish to change to.

What happens if I exceed my plan limit?

Once your current usage reaches your plan limit, automations will be suspended. We’ll send you a notification email, and you’ll have the option to move to a higher Pricing tier.

Can I use Automate Shipping Profiles when automations are suspended?

If you reach your plan limit and automations are suspended, you can use the app the same way you did before activation. In order to resume automations and access all the app’s features, you’ll need to move to a higher Pricing tier.

What happens if I delete the app?

If you uninstall the app, your settings will be saved for five (5) minutes. During this time, you can reinstall Automate Shipping Profiles and access all of your saved settings.

If you do not reinstall within five minutes, your shop data will be lost and your account will be deactivated.

Can’t find what you’re looking for? Contact us for help!

Updated on May 29, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Need Support?
If you can't find the answer you're looking for, don't worry. We're here to help.
Contact Support